Today I played the game. After a fair amount of practice at FTP playing LHE at the highest play chip stakes, I took my game to Casino Arizona and played some 4/8 LHE for what would be the beginning of my shot at the game. Kinda stuck in a corner though, as all I have to my bankroll is $500 and a hope that I could eek out enough initial wins to fan the flame with. $500. Wow. Everybody has a dream.
Anyways, it's Friday, and I made it down to the B&M at about 10AM, planning to play until 5PM, just before it got busy with all the Friday nighters. Turns out I stayed until 7:30PM, running the gammit of a rollercoaster 'til I eeked out a modest win of $20 (the dealers made more money than me today obviously, har har).
Some interesting hands that came up:
I'm in the SB with A9os and decide to open raise a limped pot with 4 players. Not the most lucrative hand to do it with, but both the LP and BTN players, I reasoned, would've raised with A10+. LP for sure always pumps pre with any random pocket pair, and the BTN has raised consistently with 109+, so I figured I might be ahead going to the flop. Dah well. All 3 villains flat.
Flop comes 932 rainbow, so I decide to lead out obviously. MP player, a really shoddy looking guy who ironically was wearing a CAZ windbreaker jacket, but seriously had the look like he was either a reeeeeeallly degen gambler, or a possible alchy (maybe both), flats me. This guy's hand selection is probably the worse I've ever seen, though, this night, he OWNED me in ways you'd never imagine. I think I ended up about 1 for 7 against this kid with 60/40s and 80/20s, him following me to the river and catching me with backdoors and runner runners like it's nobody's business. I had the sympathy of the table today. LP folds, BTN flats.
Turn's an A. Top two pair, I bet.
MP Maniac 2bets me, LP and BTN fold, and I'm already knowing what to expect at showdown, given this kid's inability to EVER fold baby connectors and suited FOUR GAPPERS. So, flat it is. BTN folds.
River 6.
Check/call it is, he knuckles 45offsuit. Nice dude. You're good. Really. You beat me with 6c3c with me flopping a set. You beat me with J8os when you runner runnered straight after I turned a set with a 467 flop. How you stayed in the hand by the turn was absolutely horrid.
I digress. Learned some good lessons today, and, although I only made a measly $2/hr, I seriously think that I can beat this game if I can plug up some leaks. Hence the blog.
For starters, I need to trust my reads, and not pay off every hand that check raises me when I'm holding top pair only. Huge spewfest, I probably lost a total of about $120 just calling too light against known nits. So, keep better mental notes on villain styles. Yeah, it was probably a bad idea calling with 4d7d against a 3bet to the dome from MP facing 2 known supertight nits. The hell am I thinking there? PATIENCE. No need to try and outplay your opponent, unless you have a really (80% positive) read that villain is 1. Not a spewtard calling station who calls with 2nd pair or bottom straight 2. Respectful of your table image. KNOW YOUR OPPONENT, TRUST YOUR READS, AND STAY PATIENT!!!
Best example of this today was some guy who sat to my left at a table full of regs possibly, who hadn't played 1 hand for about 1:30 hours. Splash pot comes to the table, and after facing a couple raises, this guy caps, and fires barrels the whole way to showdown holding Ladies as they hold up. Total pot? At LEAST $280. One hand. Later he told me that there was only one hand he mucked that was actually a winning hand prior to that hand. Nice hand, sir. Ship ship. In that 1:30 hours though, I gained, and lost, at least a hundred. Winner's tilt isn't good.
So, to recap:
Time in: 10AM
Time out: 7:30PM
Total time: 9.5 hours
Total profit: $20
winrate: $2/hr
Monday I'm heading back to the dungeon. Now that the jitters are out of the way, and after getting a good lesson in what should've been at least a +$200 session, I'm looking forward to getting it in with more +EV.
'Til later.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment