Monday, October 20, 2008

First hand coaching session: $65/hr.

Or, in other opinions... that was tonight's loss rate. Fortunately it only took me 4 hours to drill this into my head. Unfortunately... it took my whole disposable bankroll. Ugh. Thanks coach. No really. Thanks. You're expensive.


KEY LESSONS:


1. Table selection: I sat down at a table that didn't look too exciting from the outset. The table was 4 handed, with mostly everybody hunched over their cards. The body language wreaked of "this game is not lively". The average chip stack was definitely less than 2 buy-ins, so this wasn't a table where we were deep - chances are, it would be a game where the rake would win the game. Looking back at all the time I've spent at B&M casinos, I don't think I ever did too well at these types of tables. It was really only at tables where there were at least 3-5 deepstacked players, where I was able to grind out a sizable winrate. Ahhh, the moment of clarity.

It's not good to sit down at a table like this. When you buy-in, and look around and everybody who's already seated has just about the same amount of chips in front of them as you do - BEWARE. This table is going to be defined by nothing but limped pots and a heavier reliance on who can luckbox the board more often - effectively making the game just as variance-ridden as any other game in the casino. You might as well try the slots. Get out of there IMMEDIATELY unless something changes dramatically within the next couple of orbits. Like, 2 (preferrably 3) more players sit down and buy-in with more than the minimum.

RULE OF THUMB: When at a supertight, shortstacked table, exit if you either lose 4 big bets or only get 1 big bet average for the first 2 orbits.


Note: Some guy came over about 2 hours into the game, way past when I was already internally aching to play at another table, but wasn't savvy enough to actually change tables because people at the table (dealer included) was veering me to stay. (Do you need to care what your opponents think of you anyway? Their motive's are selfish obviously. You need to look out for your own best interest in these situations.) He asked if the game was juicy - if it was loose. Nobody answered. He asks again. Some guy at the table says, "No man, it's tight." So, guy railing us just simply leaves.

Later, after I'm essentially busted, I walk around the cardroom, and happen to see the same guy, this time seated at the juiciest 4/8 table going on. OMG. This table was in the middle of a hand, 4 handed, a huge huge huge pot (bigger than what I ever saw at my table, except once), and literally everyone there had at LEAST 2-3 buyins. Gosh I was so jealous. Trouble is, I could've been there, and would've been satisfied if I had gotten my money in at a table like that. I was just too much of an idiot and didn't change tables, and be more selective as to what kind of game I want to sit down at.


2. Run of Cards: If you're card dead, QUIT. Which is what happened to me. Not only was my KQ, KJ, AJ, K10, pocket Jacks, pocket Queens not hitting the board or holding up, but the majority of cards I was dealt was simply duds. This happened majority of the time I spent at the table. And this was a sign to leave the table, as, on the other hand, lady to my left was lucking out everywhere, and left the table with probably 4 more buy-ins than she entered with in about 3 hours total.

Lesson: If you're card dead, and you inherently feel it, leave. If the table is a juicy game, you could stand up and take a walk, making sure not to let your emotions make bad decisions for you because of impatience. However, if you're both card dead AND the table is bunk, switch games and get out of that place.

3. Emotional circuitry: Though emotion could be bad if you're tilting, you still need to be able to feel the game. By the time I lost my first buy-in, I suddenly became indifferent. Partly because of bad luck. The other part was because I was plain and simply too lazy to be emotionally attached to the game, because I had lost faith. This probably cost me more than it should have. Whatever the circumstance, if your head and heart isn't in the game, it's just not worth it to play for the night. Take a breather and refocus your energy, or just stand up and quit. It's that important.



----------------------------------------------------------------


A few other spots to plug up:


- Keep focused on your player reads. You need to know when people left to act are telegraphing folds, raises, or flats.

- Pay more attention to opponent hand ranges, and from what position they're playing from.

- In tighter games, 3bets are bonafide strong hands. If you even THINK you're beat... you're usually right, and you've done a good job of this so far. The next step is actually folding those hands, and this is absolutely detrimental and critical to your success as a poker player. Fold 'em if you know it's the right move.

- Think harder than you ever have about the game. Not only will this allow you to be more engaged (and thus passing time faster), but you'll also find yourself a more profitable player guaranteed.

- Pot odds and position. CRITICAL. Do NOT play J9os from UTG. Pay attention to the action from late position. K10 is fair in a multiway pot, but if there are only 2 players in the pot, it's not worth entering in with, even if only against the blinds.

- Play YOUR game. Not anyone else's. You're a thinking player, and you take everything into consideration. This is how you make the game +EV. You CANNOT gamble it up and play the same marginal hands the next player is playing just because they're luckboxing the board. It just won't work out to your benefit on most sessions, so don't do it. If you make money grinding it up as a nit, then that's your place.


So, to recap: Table selection, Run of Cards, and think and feel harder about the game than you ever have.


Overview:


Time in: 9:00PM
Time out: 1:00AM
Total time: 4 hours
Total profit: -
Total loss: $260
Lossrate: - $65hr
Play rating: 6/10


Although tonight was a horrible fail, it still was a necessary obstacle to overcome on the path to being a winning poker player. Which is good to know. The game wasn't entirely unexploitable. There are still leaks to plug up. The game could absolutely be beaten, consistently in my opinion - but only if you bring your A game to the table every night, and never let the environment effect your absolute focus and hunger to win. Without this, you're minimizing the profit you should be winning. Next shot is probably not going to come around too soon, but, before you get back in the pits again, make sure you're running on all 12 cylinders.



Good luck.

Friday, October 17, 2008

So... today it starts!!

Today I played the game. After a fair amount of practice at FTP playing LHE at the highest play chip stakes, I took my game to Casino Arizona and played some 4/8 LHE for what would be the beginning of my shot at the game. Kinda stuck in a corner though, as all I have to my bankroll is $500 and a hope that I could eek out enough initial wins to fan the flame with. $500. Wow. Everybody has a dream.
Anyways, it's Friday, and I made it down to the B&M at about 10AM, planning to play until 5PM, just before it got busy with all the Friday nighters. Turns out I stayed until 7:30PM, running the gammit of a rollercoaster 'til I eeked out a modest win of $20 (the dealers made more money than me today obviously, har har).
Some interesting hands that came up:

I'm in the SB with A9os and decide to open raise a limped pot with 4 players. Not the most lucrative hand to do it with, but both the LP and BTN players, I reasoned, would've raised with A10+. LP for sure always pumps pre with any random pocket pair, and the BTN has raised consistently with 109+, so I figured I might be ahead going to the flop. Dah well. All 3 villains flat.

Flop comes 932 rainbow, so I decide to lead out obviously. MP player, a really shoddy looking guy who ironically was wearing a CAZ windbreaker jacket, but seriously had the look like he was either a reeeeeeallly degen gambler, or a possible alchy (maybe both), flats me. This guy's hand selection is probably the worse I've ever seen, though, this night, he OWNED me in ways you'd never imagine. I think I ended up about 1 for 7 against this kid with 60/40s and 80/20s, him following me to the river and catching me with backdoors and runner runners like it's nobody's business. I had the sympathy of the table today. LP folds, BTN flats.
Turn's an A. Top two pair, I bet.
MP Maniac 2bets me, LP and BTN fold, and I'm already knowing what to expect at showdown, given this kid's inability to EVER fold baby connectors and suited FOUR GAPPERS. So, flat it is. BTN folds.
River 6.
Check/call it is, he knuckles 45offsuit. Nice dude. You're good. Really. You beat me with 6c3c with me flopping a set. You beat me with J8os when you runner runnered straight after I turned a set with a 467 flop. How you stayed in the hand by the turn was absolutely horrid.

I digress. Learned some good lessons today, and, although I only made a measly $2/hr, I seriously think that I can beat this game if I can plug up some leaks. Hence the blog.

For starters, I need to trust my reads, and not pay off every hand that check raises me when I'm holding top pair only. Huge spewfest, I probably lost a total of about $120 just calling too light against known nits. So, keep better mental notes on villain styles. Yeah, it was probably a bad idea calling with 4d7d against a 3bet to the dome from MP facing 2 known supertight nits. The hell am I thinking there? PATIENCE. No need to try and outplay your opponent, unless you have a really (80% positive) read that villain is 1. Not a spewtard calling station who calls with 2nd pair or bottom straight 2. Respectful of your table image. KNOW YOUR OPPONENT, TRUST YOUR READS, AND STAY PATIENT!!!

Best example of this today was some guy who sat to my left at a table full of regs possibly, who hadn't played 1 hand for about 1:30 hours. Splash pot comes to the table, and after facing a couple raises, this guy caps, and fires barrels the whole way to showdown holding Ladies as they hold up. Total pot? At LEAST $280. One hand. Later he told me that there was only one hand he mucked that was actually a winning hand prior to that hand. Nice hand, sir. Ship ship. In that 1:30 hours though, I gained, and lost, at least a hundred. Winner's tilt isn't good.

So, to recap:

Time in: 10AM
Time out: 7:30PM
Total time: 9.5 hours
Total profit: $20
winrate: $2/hr

Monday I'm heading back to the dungeon. Now that the jitters are out of the way, and after getting a good lesson in what should've been at least a +$200 session, I'm looking forward to getting it in with more +EV.

'Til later.